Key Biodiversity Areas

▪️Key Biodiversity Areas (KBAs) is an umbrella term commonly used to include areas that contribute to the global persistence of biodiversity, including vital habitat for threatened plant and animal species in terrestrial, freshwater and marine ecosystems.

•Sites qualify as global KBAs if they meet one or more of 11 criteria, clustered into five categories:
-threatened biodiversity
- geographically restricted biodiversity
- ecological integrity
-biological processes
- and, irreplaceability.